The Advent Season - Week 1

Danny Mitchell

The Season of Advent - The Scripture readings for Advent this year follow the order in which we will be lighting the Advent candles in our worship services--Hope, Peace, Joy, Love and Christ.  The Advent season, which encompasses the first four Sundays in December, as well as our Christmas Eve service, gives us an opportunity to reflect not only on the coming of Christ through his birth but to anticipate the second coming of Christ as well.  The word “advent” actually comes from the latin word adventus which means “coming”.  So it is appropriate that this time of year in the life of the church is called Advent.  It is also appropriate for us to set aside time each day during Advent to remind ourselves in the study of God’s word that through Jesus we have been granted access to the Father because Jesus came to earth, born of virgin and took on flesh that we might have fellowship with God.  I pray that we all may have a blessed Advent season.

Week 1:  Hope

Sunday, December 1:  Isaiah 40:9-11; 52:7-9
Monday, December 2: Isaiah 11:1-10
Tuesday, December 3:  Malachi 3:1-6
Wednesday, December 4:  John 1:9-18
Thursday, December 5:  Luke 1:5-13
Friday, December 6:  Isaiah 9:2-7
Saturday, December 7:  1 Timothy 4:9-10; Ephesians 2:19-22

From the Archives

More Recent Posts

Church Post
Church Post

Staying Connected

During these uncertain times of self-isolation, it is important for us to stay connected with one another. Many of you are already...

Keep Reading
Josiah Katumu
Prayer Guide
Prayer Guide

Our Very Present Help in Trouble

Our God, we rejoice in your sovereignty over all things, but we tremble atthe power and majesty of your holiness and judgments. Help...

Keep Reading
Kirk Ward
Prayer Guide
Prayer Guide

Psalm 22

As we read through Psalm 22, you will be reminded of Good Friday and Christ’s crucifixion. We will go through the Psalm section by...

Keep Reading
Alan Herweyer